Three EngSci 2015 Gordon Cressy Award Winners

The prestigious award was established in 1994 and is named after Gordon Cressy, former U of T vice-president of development and university relations. It recognizes students who have made outstanding extra-curricular contributions to their college, faculty or school, or to the university as a whole.


“We are tremendously proud of our Cressy Award winners for their leadership and contributions to our Engineering community,” said Dean Cristina Amon. “We strive for excellence in the student experience and these students help us realize that goal through their leadership in co- and extra-curricular activities. Their engagement beyond the classroom enriches experiential learning for all students. With their broad perspectives, talent and potential, they are well-positioned to be the global engineering leaders of the future.” READ MORE

Amanda Aleong (Year 4 EngSci)


Over the course of her undergraduate degree, Amanda transitioned from a quiet student into an open and strong leader. As the Engineering Society’s orientation chair, her positive attitude and calm approach to challenges resulted in a positive experience for both leaders and first-year students involved in Orientation Week. Amanda also served as the elected chair of the Engineering Science Club, and contributed to student outreach for science and engineering programs, the promotion and availability of first-aid on campus and leadership programs for engineering students.


Cassandra Rosen (Year 4 EngSci + PEY)


Cassandra has been influential in many campus activities at the University. She was a member of Engineers Without Borders, serving as vice president for two years, where she arranged awareness campaigns for foreign aid and met with members of parliament. She was also a founding member of the new club Engineers to Policy. In addition to these main activities, Cassandra has been an ambassador for the Division of Engineering Science, WISE and participated on behalf of Canada in the International Collegiate Design and Innovation Challenge in China.


Alice Ye (Year 4 EngSci + PEY)


Since day one, Alice has demonstrated an initiative and tireless energy. She has held positions as co-president of the Galbraith Society, chair of the Engineering Science Education Conference and director of special events for the Canadian Undergraduate Technology Conference. Alice also mentored first-year engineering students as a Peer Assisted Study Session leader and volunteered as a consultant for the Volunteer Consulting Group.