Outstanding EngSci alumni, students and friends honoured with 2019 EAN Awards

Nov. 18, 2019

Bob Simmonds, Maryam Shanechi, James Courtney, Laura C. Fujino, Robert Bazzocchi, and Aman Bhargava were among the honorees at the EAN Awards ceremony on Nov. 7.


Four EngSci alumni, a current student, and a close friend of the program were recognized for their remarkable accomplishments and dedication to their communities at the Engineering Alumni Network (EAN) Awards on Nov. 7.

“Quite an evening for EngSci students, alumni and friends,” says EngSci’s Intermin Chair, Professor Will Cluett.  “Their videos [see link below] provide wonderful testimonials to the impact that SkuleTM has had on their lives and careers. I want to congratulate all award winners on behalf of EngSci at U of T.”

Read about the award winners here.

EngSci’s honorees are:

Engineering Alumni Hall of Distinction Award:
Bob Simmonds (EngSci 7T5)

2T5 Mid-Career Achievement Award:
Maryam Shanechi (EngSci 0T4)

Malcolm F. McGrath Alumni Achievement Award:
James Courtney (EngSci 6T6, Physics MSc. 1967, Physics PhD 1971, MBA 1985)

Honourary Member of the EAN:
Laura C. Fujino

L.E. (Ted) Jones Award of Distinction:
Robert Bazzocchi (EngSci 1T9)

Engineering Alumni Network Scholarship:
Aman Bhargava (Year 2 EngSci)


View videos of the winners here.

Would you like to suggest a deserving EngSci graduate for one of the EAN Awards? 
Contact Christina Heidorn, External Relations Officer, at engsci@utoronto.ca.

© 2020 Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering